ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES 4/15/2025

The Common Council of the City of Park Falls met in regular session at 5:00 PM on Tuesday, April 15, 2025. Mayor Tara Tervort called the meeting to order at 5:00 PM and the following members were present:

Mayor:	Tara Tervort
Alderman:	Dan Greenwood
	Dennis Wartgow Terry Wilson
	James Corbett
	Anthony Thier
	Dixie Weidman
	Michael Mader
	Dina Bukachek
City Attorney:	Bryce Schoenborn
City and Zoning Administrator:	Scott Kluver

Staff present: Shannon Greenwood, Bill Hoffman, Marvin Nevelier, Becky Michels, Larry Reas

Also present: Tom LaVenture – Price County Review, Dwight Webb, Gary Wollerman

There was a motion by Alderman Wartgow and seconded by Alderman Weidman to adopt the agenda as presented. Motion carried.

COMMUNICATIONS – Mayor – remember to use microphones.

PUBLIC COMMENT – Alderman Mader shared the Beautification Committee flier with sponsorships for pots and baskets in the downtown. Alderman Mader noted that the Athletic Complex Improvements Committee Banner sponsorship program will be advertised soon.

NEW BUSINESS

Reviewed the development agreement with North Development PF, LLC and the WHEDA Collateral Assignment. As this includes use of TID funds generated from the proposed development, an agreement is statutorily required for that to occur. Dwight Webb was present to answer questions and reviewed the timeline. Motion by Alderman Wartgow to tentatively approve. Seconded by Mader. Motion carried, 8-0. Discussed the ATV/UTV and Snowmobile Ordinance Language. Alderman Weidman made the following recommendations: Adding UTV to the title, changing ATV/UTV age restriction from 18 to 16 (with safety certificate) to match the state requirement, changing snowmobile age restriction from 18 to 12 (with safety certificate) to match the state requirement, add 'operators shall yield right-of-way to all vehicular traffic and pedestrians" to operation regulations for both ATV/UTV and snowmobile, Change ATV/UTV Section 8(d) to "Access to routes: All city streets, other than those designated in Section 386-5, are open to ATV/UTV traffic. Operators are to direct their ATV/UTV in such a manner as it would be the closest and most direct route to the Official ATV/UTV Route or destination", and Snowmobile Section 19 (d) to "Access to routes: All city streets, other then those designated in Section 386-16, are open to Snowmobile traffic. Operators are to direct their Snowmobile in such a manner as it would be the closest and most direct their Snowmobile in such a manner as it would be the closest or to the Official Snowmobile Route or destination".

Alderman Wartgow made a motion to proceed with moving forward with all additional recommendations to the Ordinance language. Reviewed Chicken Permit for 1107 1st Avenue South. Motion by Alderman Wilson and seconded by Alderman Their to approve. Motion carried. Reviewed the annexation ordinance for the boundary extension at Nola Cemetery. Motion by Alderman Weidman and seconded by Alderman Mader to approve. Motion carried.

ORGANIZATION

Elect Council President – Motion by Alderman Mader to nominate Dixie Weidman as Council President. Motion by Alderman Wartgow to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot. Motion seconded by Alderman Wilson. Motion carried. Mayor Tervort proposed the following appointments: Official Newspaper - Price County Review Official Depository - Forward Bank Weed Commissioner – William Hoffman City Forester - William Hoffman City Committee Appointments: Board of Public Works - Tony Their (Chair), Michael Mader (Vice-Chair), Terry Wilson, James Corbett Public Services – Daniel Greenwood (Chair), Terry Wilson (Vice-Chair), Dennis Wartgow, Michael Mader Finance - Dixie Weidman (Chair), Dina Bukachek (Vice-Chair), Daniel Greenwood, Jim Corbett Personnel - Dennis Wartgow (Chair), Dina Bukachek (Vice-Chair), Tony Their, Dixie Weidman Parks, Recreation, and Historical Landmarks - Dixie Weidman, Dina Bukachek, Terry Wilson, Sara Enderle Library Board Members - Dina Bukachek, Jennifer Bourgard Board of Review Members - Dixie Weidman, Terry Wilson, Tony Thier Plan Commission Members – Dixie Weidman, Michael Mader, Victor Ambrose Zoning Board of Appeals Members - Dennis Wartgow, Terry Wilson, Victor Ambrose Room tax Commission Member - Dan Greenwood Housing Authority Members - Michael Mader, Gay Palecek, Debra Ralston Motion by Alderman Mader to approve all Mayor recommended appointments. Seconded by Alderman Wartgow. Motion carried.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Finance – There was a motion by Alderman Bukachek and seconded by Alderman Wilson to approve paying the bills in the amount of \$241,150.77. Motion carried, 8-0.

Board of Public Works - Director Hoffman reported

Public Services – Nothing to report.

Personnel – Nothing to report.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:01 p.m.

Prepared by: Shannon Greenwood, City Clerk